Collecting pirates at the end of an exploration

Discussion in 'Exploration Strategies' started by Moscow Cat, Oct 21, 2014.

1. Moscow Cat

Moscow Cat Crew

Greetings! I am wondering about collecting pirates at the end of exploration trips. I have noticed that when I recruit pirates while my ship is out to sea but do not used them in a battle by the time my ship return home to port, when I "collect" the returning pirates they just disappear. Grog levels do not go up, and after I do fight a battle there are no pirates waiting in a que. It seems, then, that a good strategy would be to wait until I have used those pirates in my tavern first before collecting the returned pirates. This doesn't work so well, however, if I don't want to waste pirates or battle because I have a shield, but do still want to explore. Is this correct? Is there something I am missing? (Forgive me if this is a silly question, I am quite new to all this. And my apologies if something about this has been posted elsewhere. I read widely without seeing anything but I will admit I haven't read the entire forum.) Thank you!

2. Bear

Bear Commodore

If you want to explore, and not attack due to a shield then don't train new pirates in your tavern. Just wait for them to return then collect them and send them out again. If you do want to battle, then just go battle and empty your tavern before collecting the pirates who came back from exploring.

3. Moscow Cat

Moscow Cat Crew

Right. The situation was as such - recruited pirates, realised I had been playing for hours and was late to class, ran out the door, checked later and had been attacked so there was a shield in place, and in the meantime my ship had come home. I suppose what I am really asking is if I am missing something, or if the "disappearing pirates", so to speak, are normal. (Not that it is such a big deal, I suppose it is more out of curiosity than anything.)

Last edited: Oct 21, 2014
  4. Gangrene Beard

Gangrene Beard Commodore