How to debug replay determinism issues

Discussion in 'Battle Improvements' started by Neckbeard, Feb 27, 2015.

1. Neckbeard

Neckbeard Crew

I don't mean to be insulting, but the replay divergences are pretty bad and don't seem to be getting better. So I thought it might help to give some advice on how to attack the problem. I'm a game developer and I've debugged replay determinism problems in multiple games.

Here's how I do it:

1. Add a system to log a massive amount of data about the game state, the positions, velocities, health, etc etc etc of everything in the game, to a file.
    2. Create such a log while playing the game, also recording all user input.
    3. Restart the battle, but this time you will read your massive log file instead of write to it, and play back the user input.
    4. If any of the variables you captured differ from what you recorded, assert.
    5. Hopefully where the assert hits will clue you into what caused the replay to diverge from the recording. If not then you need to add more logging and return to step 2.

That's it! It sounds easy when written so succinctly, but it's a bear of a problem. Here's some more tips:

• Staying deterministic is a never-ending battle. Every time the code changes, someone might have broken it. Depending on the size of your team, assigning a production assistant or setting up a server to keep testing it all the time is a good idea.
    • If the file is too large to fit on the device, transfer it over the network.
    • Record frame delta times (unless you have a fixed-frame engine) as part of user input. During playback you will use the recorded times and not newly measured time deltas. You might have to skip replay frames or interpolate between them if the CPU is running at a different speed than when the recording was made.
    • If you use random numbers, seed the random number generator with the same value when you begin a replay.